Searching
Please wait

SUKHOTHAI TOUR

General Information How to get there About Sukhothai Map
Attraction Accommodation Restaurant/Dining Shopping/Souvenir
Local Product Festival Activities Trip Guide
Interesting Go To Hotels

Found in the 13th century, Sukhothai (literally means Dawn of Happiness) was the first truly independent Thai Kingdom, which enjoyed a golden age under King Ramkhamhaeng, credited with creating the Thai alphabet. The superb temples and monuments of this great city have been lovingly restored in Sukhothai Historical Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a must-see for all travellers.

Sukhothai is located on the lower edge of the northern region, 427 kilometres north of Bangkok or some 298 kilometres south of Chiang Mai. The province covers some 6,596 square kilometres and is divided into 9 Amphoes: Muang Sukhothai, Ban Dan Lan Hoi, Khiri Mat, Kong Krailat, Sawankhalok, Si Nakhon, Si Samrong, Si Satchanalai and Thung Saliam.

HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

Sukhothai was the first kingdom of the Thais in this peninsula. Two princes-Pho Khun Pha Muang and Pho Khun Bang Klang Hao combined their forces and fought the Khmers who commanded an extensive empire throughout this part of the world.

They drove the Khmers out of Sukhothai, a major frontier post of the Khmer Empire, and established it as their capital in 1238. Pho Khun Bang Klang Hao, urged by the people to be king, was enthroned with the royal title of Pho Khun Si Indrathit.

King Si Indrathit had two sons-Pho Khun Ban Mueang and Pho Khun Ramkhamhaeng. After his death, Pho Khun Ban Mueang succeeded him. His brother, Pho Khun Ramkhamhaeng, ascended the throne in 1278 and reigned for forty years. He was Thailand’s first great king.

 

One of Thailand’s finest warriors, King Ramkhamhaeng made Sukhothai a powerful and extensive kingdom which included many parts of what are today neighbouring countries. A number of ancient cities paid him tribute.
King Ramkhamhaeng opened direct political relations with China and made two trips to China – the first in 1282 to visit Emperor Kublai Khan and the second in 1300 after Kublai Khans death.

From the second visit, he brought back Chinese artisans who taught the Thais the art of pottery. Today, the old Sangkhalok Potteries are eagerly sought by collectors.

A major achievement of King Ramkhamhaeng was the revision of various forms of Khmer alphabets into a system suitable for the writing of Thai words. The alphabet that he invented in 1283 was essentially the same as that in use today.
During his reign, there was prosperity and happiness. There was water in the paddy-fields and fish in the water.

A stone inscription reads in part, This Muang Sukhothai is good. In the water there are fish; in the field there is rice. The ruler does not levy a tax on the people who travel along the road together, leading their oxen on the way to trade and riding their horses on the way to sell. Whoever wants to trade in elephants, so trades. Whoever wants to trade in horses, so trades. Whoever wants to trade in silver and gold, so trades.

King Ramkhamhaeng also promoted religion and culture, and through his efforts, Buddhism progressed among the people. Inspirational faith gave birth to classic forms of Thai religious arts. Images of the Lord Buddha sculptured during the Sukhothai Era are cultural treasures which impart a feeling of peace and serenity.

A total of eight kings ruled Sukhothai. The gradual decline of Sukhothai occurred during the reigns of the last two kings. The end of this first Thai kingdom occurred in 1365 when it became a vassal state of Ayutthaya, a young and rising power to the south. Ayutthaya became the capital of Thailand before Thon Buri and Bangkok.

 

Sukhothai Attraction Tour

Art, Culture and Heritage

Si Satchanalai Historical ParkAttraction Details :Si Satchanalai Historical Park is located on the bank of the Yom River. It is open daily between 8.30 a.m.-4.30 p.m. Admission is 40 baht.
Sukhothai Historical Park or Old Sukhothai CityAttraction Details :This is located in the Rama IV Park on the Sukhothai Phitsanulok route and can be reached by local bus from town. The museum displays a variety of fresh water fish mentioned in Thai literature. It is open daily except Tuesdays from 9 a.m. 5 p.m. There is no admission fee.How to get there :By Bus

From the provincial city of Sukhothai, take the local mini-bus or Song Thaeo near the police box, within Mueang Kao area. Get off at the park’s entrance. The bus leaves every 20 minutes.

By Other

Sukhothai Historical Park is located 12 kilometres from the provincial city, on Charotwithithong Road, along the Sukhothai – Tak route (Highway No. 12).

King Ramkhamhaeng the Great MonumentAttraction Details :This is located 12 kilometres from town on the Sukhothai-Tak Highway and can be reached by local bus or hired motored tricycle from town. The park is open daily from 8.30 a.m.- 4.30 p.m. Admission is 40 baht. The park also offers tram services as well as bicycles for rent for exploring around its large area. The Tourist Service Centre in the park (Tel: 0 5569 7527, 0 5569 7310) provides information, as well as displays models of historical buildings and structures in old Sukhothai.
Fish MuseumAttraction Details :Sangkhalok is the name of ceramic wares produced in the old city of Sukhothai. The museum displays the collection of Sangkhalok and ceramic wares produced some 700 years ago in the Lanna Kingdom (now the northern region of Thailand). The museum is just one kilometre from town on the road to Phitsanulok.It is open daily from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Admission is 100 baht for adults and 20 baht for children.How to get there :By Other

: It is accessible by taking the Phitsanulok – Sukhothai bus from the bus terminal to the Rama IX Park.

Ramkhamhaeng MuseumAttraction Details :The Department of Fine Arts Started its construction in 1960 in the Sukhothai archaeological site, using a government budget combined with proceeds from sale of molded Buddha images obtained from the renovative and reconstructive excavations of ancient remains in the old town of the Sukhohai. Its construction was completed in 1963. The Character of the Ramkhamhaeng National Museum building is thatof an applied Thai – style 2 – story building. Their majesties the King and the Queen opened it on January 25,1964.Subsequently, in 1983, the government allotted an amount of Baht 3 million from the budget for the construction of a building in the Ramkhamhaeng National Museum compound marking its participation in celebrating the 700th anniversary of Lai Sue Thai, the Thai letters of the alphabet, and named this building “Lai Sue Thai Memorial Building”. His Royal Highness the Crown Prince opened it on November 17,1983. Presently, this building is used as an auditorium and temporary exhibition hall.
Sangkhalok MuseumAttraction Details :These three islands suitable for fishing can be reached within 20 minutes by boat from Ban Pak Khlong, 3 kilometres east of Bang Saphan.How to get there :By Bus

Use the local bus or the tricycle services from the market to the museum.

Sathorn Golden Textile MuseumAttraction Details :Ban Had Saew has long been known as a famous weaving village. Its people, mostly Tai Puan descendents, are believed to have migrated from Lao and settled down towards the end of King Rama II’s reign. With them came the hand-weaving household industry, a culture handed down through several generations. The woven textiles originally were only for household use, but once gaining the interest of other people elsewhere it has since then become a flourishing trade – as one can see along the highways, with over 10 shops selling the locally woven materials.The Sathorn Shop on the Sawankalok-Srisajchanalai highway also houses the “Sathorn Golden Textile Museum,” owned by Khun Sathorn Sorajprasobsanti, well-known among collectors of old fabrics. This museum was manifestation of Khun Sathorn’s appreciation of the value of old woven textiles – dated back to the time he had been a broker of old-fashioned fabrics. The appreciation also meant an awareness that those rare handmade textile pieces, formerly not much appreciated by the local Had Saew people including himself, were much sought after by outsiders, academicians, and collectors. So unless the rare pieces had been saved, soon they would have vanished, or would have been sold out, because even ornate “teen jok” pieces were selling very well. The collection thus started was continued until Khun Sathorn was able to put it in a museum, which was opened in 1988.
Sawankhaworanayok National MuseumAttraction Details :It is 38 kilometres from Sukhothai and 2 kilometres further on a road on the left. The museum was open in 1984, and features sculptural art from various periods; the most interesting being Sangkhalok crockery from the Sukhothai era and Sangkhlalok items retrieved from sunken vessels in the Gulf of Thailand. The museum is open daily except Mondays, Tuesdays, and public holidays, from 8.30 a.m. – 4 p.m. Admission is 30 baht per person. For more information, call 0 5564 1571, 0 5564 3166How to get there :By Other

approximately 38 kilometres from the provincial city of Sukhothai. Proceed left for another 1.6 kilometres.

 

Sukhothai Educational Places

Celadon Kiln Site Study and Conservation CentreAttraction Details :This is located at Ban Ko Noi, some 4 kilometres to the north of Si Satchanalai. More than 500 kilns have been excavated up to now. Numerous celadon wares in perfect condition as well as pot have been discovered. The kiln is oval in shape with a curved roof and is 7-8 metres wide. The centre consists of 2 buildings situated on the kiln site area with 2 kilns No.42 and 61 exhibited on site. There are also exhibitions on artifacts and on the evolution of ancient ceramic wares. The centre is open daily from 9 a.m.- 4 p.m. Admission is 30 baht. To get there, drive for 6.5 kilometres to the north of Si Satchanalai Historical Park to Ban Ko Noi where the remains of ancient kilns can be seen scattered around. The centre is also accessible by the provincial highway No.1201 from Amphur Si Satchanalai, a distance of 7 kilometres with the buildings located on the left.
Sukhothai Historical Park or Old Sukhothai CityAttraction Details :This is located in the Rama IV Park on the Sukhothai Phitsanulok route and can be reached by local bus from town. The museum displays a variety of fresh water fish mentioned in Thai literature. It is open daily except Tuesdays from 9 a.m. 5 p.m. There is no admission fee.How to get there :

By Bus

From the provincial city of Sukhothai, take the local mini-bus or Song Thaeo near the police box, within Mueang Kao area. Get off at the park’s entrance. The bus leaves every 20 minutes.

By Other

Sukhothai Historical Park is located 12 kilometres from the provincial city, on Charotwithithong Road, along the Sukhothai – Tak route (Highway No. 12).

Sponsor

Weather For Bangkok
29°
few clouds
humidity: 83%
wind: 4m/s SSW
H 29 • L 28
34°
Fri
27°
Sat
29°
Sun
34°
Mon
34°
Tue
Weather from OpenWeatherMap