Searching
Please wait

PHICHIT TOUR

General Information How to get there History Map
Attraction Accommodation Restaurant/Dining Shopping/Souvenir
Local Product Festival Activities Trip Guide
Interesting
Booking Hotels

Situated in the Lower North some 345 kilometres from Bangkok, Pichit is accessible by both road and rail. Nurtured by two rivers, the Yom and the Nan running parallel to one another north to south, the land is agriculturally fertile. Once the site of an ancient town dating back almost a thousand years ago, Phichit has played in a major role in the history of both Sukhothai and Ayutthaya.

Known as the land of the crocodiles, it has been home to this ferocious reptile which has thrived in its waters. There are today several fresh-water crocodile farms. Phichit features in the Thai epic Krai Thong composed by King Rama II which tells of Chalawa

Phichit is administratively divided into the following districts: Muang, Pho Prathap Chang, Taphan hin, Bang Mun Nak, Pho Thale, Sam Ngam, Wang Sai Phun, Thap Khlo, Sak Lek, Dong Charoen, Bueng Na Rang and Wachirabarami.

 

 

Phichit Attractions

Phichit Art, Culture & Heritage

 

Ku Mahathat : The Khmer ruins is located in Ban Khwao. Built in the 13th Century to serve as a hospital during the reign of King Chaivoraman VII, the laterite ruins was created in Bayon style in rectangular shape. With 8 metres high and 4 metres wide, the ruins houses two gods made from terra cotta, sitting legs crossed with conchs in hands. The ruin is situated in the embrace of laterite wall and it can be accessed via eastern gopura (gate) only. There is a small building located southeast of the wall. The eastern gate is the only real gate while other three are fake doors. Door frames and lintels made of sandstone. The site is already excavated and renovated by the Department of Fine Art. How to get there, From Maha Sarakham city, sue Chaeng Sanit Road (highway 23: Maha Sarakham-Roi-Et), for 13 kilometres.

Places of Worship

Wat Nakhon Chum : Wat Nakhon Chum is some 9 kilometres from town on the Phichit – Wang Chik road. Built in the Sukhothai period about 800 hundred years ago, the temple features an old Ubosot built with brick and mortar with the upper parts in wood. Instead of windows, there are narrow openings for ventilation throughout the walls, similar to temples of the Ayutthaya period. In the Ubosot is a large Sukhothai-style Buddha statue once used as the principal statue in oath-taking ceremony pledging allegiance to the monarch.
Wat Tha Luang : Built on the west bank of the Nan River within town limit in 1845, Wat Tha Luang today houses Luang Pho Phet, a Chiang Saen-style Buddhist statue cast in bronze.
Wat Pho Prathap Chang : An old temple in Pho Prathap Chang district is Wat Pho Prathap Chang, located about 27 kilometres from town on route #1068 to the south. It was built by Phra Chao Sua, an Ayutthaya king, in 1701 at a site reputed to be his own birth-place. Although abandoned for almost 300 years, the remaining traces are indicative of past splendors, such as a huge Vihan with its walls still standing but now roofless, and small Chedis scattered over the site. The entire site is surrounded by double-walls and huge trees, some of which are over 200 years old.
Wat Bang Khlan : About 12 kilometres from the district town of Pho Tha-le, or 60 kilometres south of Phichit town, is Wat Bang Khlan. It was the resident temple of the highly revered monk, the late Luang Pho Ngoen. A statue of the Luang Pho Ngoen continues to receive homage from the public. The Chai Bowon Museum inside the temple collects ancient items such as votive tablets, Buddha statues and earthen-wares for display. It is open only on Saturday-Sunday.
Wat Khao Rup Chang : Wat Khao Rup Chang is located along the Phichit-Taphan Hin road some 15 kilometres from town. On the hilltop is an old, Ayutthaya-style Chedi built of bricks but with its top part now broken. There is also a Mondop, the wall murals of which have largely faded away. The Mondop house a bronze Holy Relic.

 

Phichit Nature & Wildlife

Bueng Si Fai : Bueng Si Fai is a large fresh-water lake to the south of town. It is a Fishery Department’s facility to breed fresh-water. Along the banks is a delightfully landscaped park suitable for rest and recreation. The scenery is at its most scenic in the early morning and late afternoon. On the other side of the park is an aquarium exhibiting species of native fish and local fishing equipment. An eye-catching sight is a gigantic, crocodile-shaped structure within which is a space which could be used for meetings.

 

Phichit Recreational & Entertainment

Utthayan Mueang Kao Pichit : About 7 kilometres from town on the Phichit-Wang Chick road (no. 1068) is Utthayan Mueang Kao Pichit. The park features an ancient town dating back to more than 900 years. Most of the structures discovered were built during the Sukhothai and Ayutthaya periods. The old town is surrounded by city walls and moats. During the Sukhothai period it was called Muang Sa Luang situated on the original bank of the Nan River before the river changes its course, which was the reason the town itself was moved to the new bank in circa 1881 during the reign of king Rama V. In the town centre is Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat with its large bell-shaped Chedi inside of which have been found hundreds of votive tablets. In front of the Chedi are remains of a Vihan. There are score of small Chedis scattered around the site.

Sponsor

Weather For Bangkok
31°
few clouds
humidity: 79%
wind: 5m/s S
H 31 • L 27
34°
Thu
28°
Fri
31°
Sat
34°
Sun
36°
Mon
Weather from OpenWeatherMap