Searching
Please wait

SISAKET TOUR Si Sa Ket Travel advice

General Information How to get there About Sisaket Map
Attraction Accommodation Restaurant/Dining Shopping/Souvenir
Local Product Festival Activities Trip Guide
Interesting Go To Hotels

Si Sa Ket is a quiet province on the Cambodia border with Khmer ruins scattered throughout the province.Most notable are the two ruined sanctuaries of Wat Sa Kamphaeng Yai and Noi,dating back to the 10 th century.

However, the most famous Khmer site is actually in Cambodia. Khao Phra Wihan was built over 10 centuries ago and is one of the most spectacular Angkor-period sites. Built as a Hindu temple, it begins in Thailand and rises to 600 metres with the main sanctuary in Cambodia.

After a long period of war, its wonderful craftsmanship,stairways and courts are now being restored. Thi walk to the summit is long and steep, but visitors are sure to be impressed by the size and complexity of its design.

Si Sa Ket has an area of 8,840 square kilometres, comprising the following districts: Muang Si Sa Ket, Kanthararom, Kantharalak, Khun Han, Phrai Bung, Khukhan, Prang Ku, Uthumphon Phisai, Rasi Salai, Yang Chum Noi, Huai Thap Than, Non Khun, Si Rattana, Wang Hin, Bueng Bun, Nam Kliang, Phu Sing, Benchalak, Muang Chan, Pho Si Suwan and Sila Lat.

 

Si Sa Ket Attractions

Si Sa Ket Art,Culture and Heritage

Khun Ampai Panich Building

Attraction Details :

Located in Mueang Municiplaity, Ubon Road, the beautiful building belongs to Si Sa Ket nobleman Khun Ampai Panich (In Naga-siharat). Built by Chinese and Mon technicians in 1925, the Chinese style building was gracefully decorated with stucco. It is well renovated and preserved, and eventually won gold medal in the project of conversing urban architecture in 1987. The Fine Art Department has registered the building as ancient building already.

Prasat Khao Phra Wihan (Preah Vihear)

Attraction Details :

Located in Cambodia, right by Amphoe Kantharalak, some 35 kilometres from Amphoe Kantharalak, the cliff-top Khmer sanctuary once belonged to Thailand. It was enlisted as an antique architecture by the Fine Arts Department and with announcement in the Royal Gazette on October 11, 1940. After the World Court ruling on July 15, 1962, the sanctuary belongs to Cambodia until now. For more information about visiting Phear Vihear Sanctuary, call Amphoe Kantharalak at 0-4566-1422 or Ranger Unit 23 at 0-4566-1443.

Visitor to Preah Vihear Sanctuary needs to pay 200 baht each to get through Khao Phra Wihan National Park, 5 baht for border crossing (pay to Amphoe Kantharalak) and 200 baht entry fee (pay to Cambodian Government). Visiting the sanctuary requires at least an hour.

How to get there. From Si Sa Ket City, use highway y221 to Amphoe Kantharalak en route Ban Phum Saron. Tourist requires to access the sanctuary via Khao Phra Wihan National Park and pay the border crossing charge first.

About Preah Vihear.
The sanctuary is located on cliff top at 500 metres elevation which has long been considered a sacred place among various local races in the region. Sanctuary and lingam in Shaivism was established here in the 11th Century and attracted people from all around and pilgrimages from far away.

With outstanding location on mountain slope, Preah Vihear Sanctuary comprises 4 parts. The steep stair way leads to the first Gopura which is four-faced pavilion. Then, the walkway leads to the second Gopura which houses carved gable depicting ‘Churning the Sea of Milk’ which is related to royal coronation of Khmer king. The third part is called ‘Maha Monthian’. The last part, by the breath taking cliff, is the sacred inner sanctuary called “Prasat Prathan’ which houses Shivalinga. The sanctuary faces north (or Thailand) towards the up-hill entrance.

Sisa Asoka

Attraction Details :

The chemical-free and Buddhism-devout community acquires over 100 rais area in Tambon Krachaeng. Sisa Asoka is community model in self sufficiency, turning it back to capitalism and prefers Buddhism-devout lifestyle. Its remarkable success attracts organizations from nationwide to study its story, and tourists to shop for chemical-free fruit, vegetable, and herbs from the village’s outlet.

Somdet Phra Si Nakharin Park

Attraction Details :

This is a large public park inside an agricultural college 2 kilometres from the provincial hall. At the park one can see flowering shrubs called Lamduan that are the official plants of the province. Lamduan is a Thai flower that is at its most enchanting when it blooms from March to April as its sweet fragrance covers the whole area.

Prasat Ban Prasat

Attraction Details :

Located in Wat Prasat Phanaram, Ban Prasat, the Khmer ruins was adapted in later era like Si Khoraphum Khmer Ruins in Surin. Huai Thap Than Khmer Ruins has very similar roof, but quite higher. It comprises 3 brick stupa on laterite base in North-South direction standing in the laterite walls with arch gates. It might have 4 gates in the past, but today only southern gate remains. The main stupa at the middle is a bit bigger than other two, but its roof, in rectangular shape, is shorter. It has only gate at the east with sandstone frame decorated with unfinished carved lintel depicting a man standing above the kiattimukha with flower frame. The second stupa on another side has the same size but different style. The stupa is filled up with bricks, it has fault doors with sandstone door frame. There are carved lintel depicting the churning sea of milk lies in front of southern stupa. Assumed from art style of the lintel, this Khmer Ruins may be built in the 11th Century with blending art style of Khlang and Bapuan, before being adapted later. How to get there: From Si Sa Ket City, use highway 22 for 39 kilometres, turn right at Amphoe Huai Thap Thann and keep going for other 8 kilometres.

Prasat Ban Prasat Sanctuary

Attraction Details :

Ban Prasat Sanctuary is at Tambon Phlai, 5 kilometres from the district office on the way to Surin. The only remaining structure is the laterite wall and ancient pool, which is to the east of the site.

Prasat Prang Ku

Attraction Details :

Prasat Prang Ku is 10 kilometres from the district office. Prang Ku is a small Khmer site built of large laterite slabs. It is over a thousand years old. The front part has a large pool that is the habitat of waterfowls in the dry season.

Prasat Ta Leng

Attraction Details :

Prasat Ta Leng is at Ban Prasat, Tambon Kanthrarom, 20 kilometres from the district office. A square pagoda adorns the site. The front doorway still has clear, beautiful designs. The sanctuary was built around the 16th-17th Buddhist century.

Prasat Tamnak Sai

Attraction Details :

Located at Ban Tamnak Sai, Tambon Bak Dong, Tamnak Sai Khmer Ruins has a single stupa on sandstone base. The brick stupa has rectangular shape and one real door at the east while the other three are fault doors with carved door frame on the brick. Two carved guardian lions are watching the gate. The front door has frame made of sandstone. The door once was decorated with carved lintel depicting the God Narai lying on naga, with Laksami sitting at his feet, and Brahma rising from his navel. Both side of Brahma are hermit and a person in the frame. Now such lintel is kept in Phimai National Museum.

Prasat Wat Sa Kamphaeng Noi

Attraction Details :

Situated in Wat Sa Kamphaeng Noi, Ban Klang, Tambon Khayung, The Khmer Ruins comprises laterite stupa and chapel with a big pond at front, all are in the embrace of laterite wall. Once it had a stone carved lintel depicting ‘the Varun God’, the god of rain, sitting on the throne above three swans. The carving was placed over Kiattimukha. The Khmer Ruins in Bapuan is dated back to the 11th Century. At the first place, it was used for religious purpose. In the 13th Century, under the reign on King Chaya Varaman VII, Bayon Architectural style was added. During such time, the ruins was called ‘Arokaya Sala’ to be served as community hospital. How to get there: The Khmer Ruins is 8 kilometres from Si Sa Ket City, on the right of highway 226 (Si Sa Ket-Uthumphon Phisai).

Prasat Wat Sa Kamphaeng Yai

Attraction Details :

Located in Wat Sa Kamphaeng Yai, Ban Kamphaeng Yai, Tambon Sa Kamphaeng Yai, it is the biggest and most perfect Khmer Ruins in the province. The Khmer Ruins comprises three stupas on the same base lining in North-South direction and facing east. The main stupa, at the middle, made from sandstone and bricks in some part, houses carved lintel depicting God Indra on the back of Erawan Heavenly Elephant above the Kiattimukha. Other two stupas are made of brick with sandstone decorations such as lintel, gable frame and door frame. Behind the southern stupa is another brick stupa. Before all are two brick vihara surrounded with walls made from laterite and sandstone and 4 Gopuras (doors) at all directions.

Brick vihara at north houses a carved lintel depicting Reclining Vishnu. The southern brick vihara houses a lintel depicting God Shiva and Goddess Uma seated on Nonthi Cow. Presently, this Khmer Ruins belongs to the division of Archeology, Fine Arts Department. Many antiques are found from this site such as lintels depicting Shiva God, Krissana God fighting Vattana Cow, Buddha statue in the attitude of meditation under naga, Buddha statue in attitude of meditation, and terra cotta Buddha images.

By the style appearing on gables, lintels, and antique, particularly inscription at the doorframe of Sa Kamphaeng Yai Khmer Ruins, this ruins was probably build in the 11th Century with Bapuan Art style of Khmer. It was served as shrine for God Shiva before changing into Mahayana Buddhist temple in 13th Century.

How to get there: The Khmer Ruins is 26 kilometres from Si Sa Ket City and 2 kilometres from  Amphoe Uthumphon Phisai, via highway 226.

Si Sa Ket Zoo

Attraction Details :

This zoo is in Rama IX Chaloem Phra Kiat Forest Park in Non Nong Kwang, 4 kilometres from the provincial hall. It is a good place to relax and to see wild animals in the zoo

Ta Leng Khmer Ruins

Attraction Details :

The main stupa at the middle is a bit bigger than other two, but its roof, in rectangular shape, is shorter. It has only gate at the east with sandstone frame decorated with unfinished carved lintel depicting a man standing above the kiattimukha with flower frame. Located in Moo 6 Ban Prasat, Tambon Kanthararom, Ta Leng Khmer Ruins features a single stupa standing on the base. The stupa has rectangular base facing east. Presently, only the front wall and some side walls remain. The front door is the real door while the other three are fault doors. Pillars by the front door are delicately carved. The ruins was built in 11th-12th Century.

Many lintels are found scattering. The lintel at the northern gate depicts God Indra on Erawan Heavenly Elephant in the frame over kirtimukha. God Indra encarved in that lintel just took garland out of his mouth and holding it with both hands. Other lintels feature the same depiction except one depicting 7 hermits sitting in line during practicing meditation. From such architecture and art style, Taseng Khmer Ruins was built in Bapuan style during the year 1017- 1087.

How to get there: From Si Sa Ket City, use highway 220 to Amphoe Ku Khan, turn right at police station and keep going for three kms. Turn left at the intersection and keep going for 300 metres, turn right and continue for other 8 kms. Turn right at Ban Prasart, the Khmer Ruins is on the right.

Sponsor

Weather For Bangkok
31°
light rain
humidity: 70%
wind: 5m/s S
H 31 • L 26
24°
Mon
25°
Tue
33°
Wed
32°
Thu
32°
Fri
Weather from OpenWeatherMap