Searching
Please wait

NAKHONNAYOK TOUR

General Information How to get there History Map
Attraction Accommodation Restaurant/Dining Shopping/Souvenir
Local Product Festival Activities Trip Guide
Interesting
Booking Hotels

Nakhon Nayok is a destination which is often taken for granted by many tourists. The fact that it is located just 106 kilometers from Bangkok and its attractions may be visited as a day trip makes it just a stop over spot for travelers. But this is not always the case. Nakhon Nayok is famous for its refreshing natural beauty including waterfalls and parks, renowned historical sites, soft adventure activities, and its variety of fruits.

Nakhon Nayok is one of Thailand’s central provinces. Covering some 2,130 square kilometres, it borders Saraburi and Nakhon Ratchasima Provinces on the north, Prachin Buri Province on the east, Chachoengsao Province on the south and Pathum Thani Province on the west.

The northern part of Nakhon Nayok is located in the Dong Phaya Yen mountain range an area covered by the Khao Yai National Park. Yod Khao Kiew, its highest peak, is 1,292 meters above sea level. The central part of the province is on a contrary, a rather flat river plain formed by the Maenam Nakhon Nayok. The southern part of the province has relatively unfertile acidic soil.

The provincial seal says a lot about Nakhon Nayok. It is a picture of a circle indicating the unity of Nakhon Nayok people. An elephant raising an ear of rice in the circle represents fertile forests with numerous elephants. An ear of rice refers to farming which is fruitful. The background with a pile of straw, trees and clouds depicts fertility and the natural beauty of the province.

Nakhon Nayok is a province with a history of over 900 years. It was believed to have been established in the Dvaravati period as indicated by some remains found in Ban Dong Lakhon, a village to the south of the town. During the Ayutthaya period and the reign of King U-Thong, the town which was an eastern garrison was only a forested but infertile highland called Ban Na (village of the rice field). Jungle fever, unfruitful and unproductive agriculture forced the settlers to migrate elsewhere. It was not until the King granted an exemption of paddy field tax that people began to move in and settle down as a community. It was then named Muang Nayok which literally means the town that the paddy tax was lifted.

In 1894, under the royal command of King Rama V, Nakhon Nayok was designated as part of Prachin Buri province. Eventually, it became a province in its own right.

Nakhon Nayok Attraction

Nakhon Nayok  Art, Culture & Heritage

Nakhon Nayok Circular PavilionBuilt as a recreation area for military cadets, the Pavilion was constructed under the command of Field Marshall Crown Prince Phitsanulok Prachanat. It is also a place where a sculpture of King Rama V is enshrined.

————————————————————————————-

King Rama V MonumentBuilt to honor His Majesty King Chulalongkorn (King Rama V) the founder of the Academy, the Monument is situated at the headquarters. The Monument depicts King Chulalongkorn seated in full Army regalia, bearing the Royal Insignia of the Supreme Commander of the Thai Forces.

————————————————————————————-

The 100-Year Royal Military Academy MuseumA perfect place to learn about the history of war and its consequences, the museum displays biographies of famous graduates, history of wars, weapons of war and uniforms of soldiers of neighboring nations, as well as a wax sculpture of King Rama V. Open daily from 8.30 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. Admission fee is 10 baht.

————————————————————————————-

Nakhon Nayok Places of Worship

Wat PhrammaniThe Military Memorial is located in this temple, Sarika Sub-district, approximately 5 kilometers on the way to Namtok Sarika-Nang Rong (Highway No. 3050). During World War II, the 37th Quartermaster Infantry of the Japanese Military located their camp at the temple. In 1992, the Friend of Asian Alliance War Association built the memorial to honor the 7,920 Thai soldiers who were recruited to work in the camp and died in the war. Their ashes which were once placed in the temple are now put in the altar of the memorial.An additional attraction is an elaborate Buddha image which was brought here during the war from Vientiane by migrating Laotians. The Buddha image is commonly called Phra Phuttarup Pak Daeng (the red-lipped Buddha image). Please ask the abbot to see the Buddha image.

————————————————————————————-

Phra Phutthachai or Wat Phra ChaiInitially, the only painting featuring several Buddha motifs in different postures on a cliff wall facing a small hill near Khao Cha Ngok was found in a place formally called Wat Khao Cha-Ngok. In 1942, the Map Department of the Royal Thai Army decided to build a marble quarry at the foot of the hill and began restoring the paintings.

————————————————————————————-

City Pillar ShrineThe most honored Shrine in the city, the San Lak Mueang has been reconstructed and renovated several times. Situated near the Old City, it was once an old Shrine housing a 1-metre wooden column with a carving of a lotus at the top. In 1910, the City Pillar was enshrined at the Red Building of the Sri Nakhon Nayok School where a new four-cornered pavilion situated along Maenam Nakhon Nayok was established to house the Pillar. Inside the Shrine visitors will see one corner dedicated to Narai, a Hindu God, and another corner to a Buddhist image from the Ayutthaya period.

————————————————————————————-

Shrine of Chao Pho Khun DanKhun Dan was Nakhon Nayoks supreme administrative leader during the reign of King Naresuan the Great of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. During the war between the Kingdom and the Burmese, the Khmers took the opportunity to invade Nakhon Nayok and claim the city under its sovereignty. It was here that Khun Dan set up a camp to mobilize the people and fought back. He defeated the Khmers in 1587. The Shrine is one of the most highly respected shrines by local residents.

————————————————————————————-

Nakhon Nayok Nature & Wildlife

Rafting along Nakhon Nayok RiverOriginating from Khao Yai National Park, the Nakhon Nayok River branches out at Wang Takhrai Canal. Canoe rafting trips leave from Wang Ta Krai Canal (next to Wang Ta Krai Bridge) and proceeds along Nang Rong Canal to the Nakhon Nayok River. There are many exit points along the river bank such as at Ban dong, Kaeng Sam Chan, Wang Kutapha and Wang Yao. The distance for each section is 2-5 kilometers. The river is quite smooth without rapids, but may have many unexpected (but thrilling) twists and turns.The canoeing routes as followsWang Takhrai Bridge – Sam Chan Rapids: distance – 3 kms.

Wang Takhrai Bridge – Wang Kutapha: distance – 4 kms.

Tha Dan Bridge – Sam Chan Rapids: distance – 3 kms.

Tha Dan Bridge – Wang Kutapha: distance – 4.5 kms.

Wang Takhrai Bridge – Wang Yao: distance – 6.5 kms.

Tha Dan Bridge – Wang Yao: distance – 6.5 kms.

More complete and up-to-date information, regarding current prices and water (current) conditions, can be obtained from the TAT office in Nakhon Nayok tel: 037 312-282 and 312-284.

* Trekking, please refer to section in Khao Yai National Park.

————————————————————————————-

Sarika Waterfall
The most famous waterfall in Nakhon Nayok is located in Sarika Sub-district, approximately 15 kilometers east of the city along Highway No. 3050. The nine-tiered waterfall cascading down the cliff to a forested hillside has a large natural pool on each level which is sometimes is perfect for swimming. Accommodations, restaurants and souvenir shops are available. Local products including brooms and artificial flowers made from wild pine are sold in shops around the waterfall.Luang Pu Man, the famous and revered monk, had resided in nearby Sarika Cave for his religious meditation from 1917-1920. Other than Luang Pu Mans meditation place inside the cave there is also a chapel located at the top-end of the cave. In addition, there are residences of monks and nuns who pursue inner-path meditation.Getting to this picturesque waterfall is very convenient. Drive along Highway No. 3049 for about 12 kilometers, then take a left turn to Highway No. 3050 and proceed for another 3 kilometers.

————————————————————————————-

Wang Takhrai waterfallWang Takhrai, which is located quite close to Namtok Sarika, is a resort and a botanical garden belonging to the Chumphot – Phanthip Foundation. Wang Takhrai encompasses a total area of 1,500 rai (about 600 acres) and is renowned for its scenic landscape, small rocky creek and wide variety of plants. In addition, there is a wide range of activities awaiting visitors including swimming, riding downstream on inflated tire inner tubes, canoeing, or cycling. Camp sites and bungalow facilities are also available.Wang Takhrai is located in Hing Tang Sub-district, approximately 16 kilometers from Nakhon Nayok town. A fun, one-day trip is possible, as visitors may drive to all the attractions within the compound.

————————————————————————————-

Heo Narok WaterfallLocated to the south of the Park, this beautiful 3-tiered waterfall cascades from a 200-meter cliff through forested mountains onto the plains below. Its first tier is 60 meters high. The scene is breathtaking, particularly when watching the strong currents flowing from the first layer to the lower layers at a 90-degree angle before disappearing into the deep valley. The waterfall is truly spectacular and equally dangerous claiming at least one elephant death per year as wild elephants jungle path is through the waterfall.The waterfall is accessible via Route No. 3077 (Prachin Buri-Khao Yai Route). Traveling by car from the city, drive along Suwannason Road, take a left turn to Highway Number 3077 at Noen Hom intersection or Naresuan roundabout in Prachin Buri Province, and proceed to the Km. 24 marker.From Bangkok, take the Don Muang-Hin Kong route; turn left on to Highway No. 33, which leads to Noen Hom Intersection. Alternatively, use the Rangsit Road and drive towards Nakhon Nayok-Noen Hom Intersection, then switch to Highway No.3077 to Namtok Haeow Narok.

By Bus: From Bangkok. There are several bus companies operating on the Bangkok-Prachin Buri route. Buses depart from the Northern Bus Terminal on Kamphaengphet 2 Road. Get off the bus at Naresuan Intersection and then hire a song taew to Khao Yai National Park.

By Bus

The Transport Co., Ltd. operates Bangkok-Prachin Buri buses from the Northern Bus Terminal on Kamphaengphet 2 Road. Getting off at Naresuan intersection and then ride a chartered local truck (Song Thaeo) to Khao Yai National Park.

By OTHER

By Car: driving from Nakhon Nayok town on Suwannason Road, take a left turn to Highway Number 3077 at Neon Hom intersection or Naraesuan roundabout in Prachin Buri province, and then continue driving to kilometre 24 marker.

————————————————————————————-

Lan Rak or Namtok Tat Hin Kong WaterfallSituated in Phramani Sub-district on the way to Namtok Sarika and Namtok Nang Rong, this is a unique waterfall originating from a small stream which flows through a large rocky formation at the foot of a small hill. The best time to visit the waterfall is during the rainy season. To get there, take a left turn at Prachakasem intersection (about 8 kilometers on the route to the Saithong Reservoir), and then proceed for another 5 kilometers.

————————————————————————————-

Nang Rong WaterfallLocated in Hin Tang Sub-district, part of the Khao Yai National Park, this multi-tiered waterfall flows down to several rock formations below and then to the lush forests. A small pool at each level makes the waterfall a perfect place for visitors to literally immerse themselves in the natural beauty.Namtok Nang Rong is located some 20 kilometers on Route No. 3049. Visitors should proceed for 7 kilometers from the Km. 12 marker of the same Highway in order to reach the waterfall. Accommodations, toilets and restaurants are available. The waterfall attracts numerous visitors during the festive seasons and long holidays.

————————————————————————————-

Phra Chai WaterfallThis small waterfall cascading some 30 meters from a cliff into a basin is situated behind Wat Khao Cha-Ngok.

————————————————————————————-

Phra Phutthachai or Wat Phra ChaiInitially, the only painting featuring several Buddha motifs in different postures on a cliff wall facing a small hill near Khao Cha Ngok was found in a place formally called Wat Khao Cha-Ngok. In 1942, the Map Department of the Royal Thai Army decided to build a marble quarry at the foot of the hill and began restoring the paintings.

————————————————————————————-

Sponsor

Weather For Bangkok
33°
thunderstorm
humidity: 70%
wind: 3m/s SSE
H 34 • L 28
33°
Thu
31°
Fri
27°
Sat
28°
Sun
30°
Mon
Weather from OpenWeatherMap