Searching
Please wait

CHACHOENGSAO TOUR

General Information How to get there History
Map
Attraction Accommodation Restaurant/Dining Shopping/Souvenir
Local Product Festival Activities Trip Guide
Interesting
Booking Hotels

Chachoengsao or Paet Rio is located on the east of Bangkok. Its fertility is due to Bang Pakong River. It is an important venue for agricultural products in the Central Region, with mango as the most popular fruit of the province. Moreover, it is the location of the sacred Phra Phutthasothon Buddha image.

Derived from Khmer, the name Chachoengsao means deep canal, while the name of Paet Rio (Paet means eight and Rio means stripes) has been believed to have come from the way dried fish (which are abundant in the area) were being pierced into eight stripes.

The history of Chachoengsao dated back since the Ayutthaya Period during the reign of King Phra Borom Tri Lokkanat. Most people live along the banks of Bang Pakong River and canals. Phra Phutthasothon or Luang Pho Sothon is the center of beliefs and faith. In the past, Chachoengsao was a small town, and was upgraded to a province in 1916.

Chachoengsao is 80 kilometers from Bangkok, with the area of 5,351 square kilometers. The local administration is divided into 10 Amphoe (district) and 1 King Amphoe (sub-district), namely: Amphoe Muang, Bang Khla, Bang Nam Prieo, Bang Pakong, Ban Pho, Phanom Sarakham, Sanam Chai Khet, Plaeng Yao, Ratchasan, Tha Takiap, and King Amphoe Khlong Khuean.

Geographical Location

In general, the areas are plains with forests along the sea coast. In the east, in Amphoe Sanam Chai Khet, the areas contain highlands and mountains, with the attitude of 300 meters above sea level.

Chachoengsao Attractions

Chachoengsao Art, Culture & Heritage

Monument of King Taksin the GreatMonument of King Taksin the Great The monument has been built as a memorial site to commemorate King Taksin passing Chachoengsao after the fall of Ayutthaya in 1767 to restore Thailands independence. It is told that at this location was formerly a stupa built for his victory over the enemies. After that, it was demolished in 1931. And eventually the new shrine was constructed in 1988.

———————————————————————————————–

Ancient FortressAncient Fortress Located on Suk Kasem Road, this site was built in the reign of King Rama III. During the reign of King Rama V, this fort was used to fight against the Chinese riots. At the front of the fortress, there is a public park suitable for viewing the scenery of the Bang Pakong River. Also, many old cannons can be seen along on the wall.

———————————————————————————————–

Chachoengsao  Places of Worship

Wat Sothon Wararam WorawihanThis temple is in the municipal area by the Bang Pakong River.  Built in late Ayutthaya Period, with its original name of “Wat Hong”, it is the location of Phra Phutthasothon or Luang Pho Sothon, the important Buddha image in the attitude of meditation with a width of 1.65 meters and a height of 1.48 meters high. According to the legend, this Buddha image had been floated along the river, before being placed here at this temple.  The original image was a beautiful Buddha image, but later on cement was placed on the image to prevent from burglary.  Worshippers from all walks of life come to pay respect to this most reputed image by pasting gold leaves on the image.The present chapel (ubosot) is a new, beautiful, and gigantic building which has  replaced the old one. The chapel actually depicts the style of the applied Rattanakosin period.. The operating hours are during 07:00 –16:15 hrs. weekdays and 07:00 – 17:00 hrs. weekends.   Moreover, there are many stalls for food and local souvenirs.  Long-tailed boat service to and from the city market and the temple is also available.

———————————————————————————————–

Wat Pho Bang KhlaThis temple is 23 kilometers from Chachoengsao. Using highway No. 304 for 17 kilometers, then turn left to highway No.3121 for 6 kilometers, pass the Monument of King Taksin the Great, then turn left 500 meters. Also, another route is to travel by boat from Chachoengsao town at Tawan Ok Plaza pier, and land at the pier of the temple. There are many bats on trees during the day and fly out to search for food during the night. And even though fruits are their favorites, these bats never eat fruits grown by Bang Khla people.

———————————————————————————————–

Wat Chin PrachasamosonWat Chin Pracha Samoson (Wat Leng Hok Yi) is another Chinese temple of Wat Leng Noei Yi in Bangkok. It is on Supphakit Road, far from the City Hall about 1 kilometer. The interesting points in the temple are Chinese warrior sculptures and the ceremonial hall (viharn) with Chinese arts. It is also a popular site for Chinese religious ceremonies.

———————————————————————————————–

Wat Phayakkha IntharamHas been proved to be built in the reign of King Rama V, the big stupa inside the temple was built in 1873, while the temple itself was built in 1881.  Being one of the most ancient temples, this venue has been registered by the Fine Arts Department as the archeological site.  Highlights of the temple are one big stupa, two small stupas , some other Buddhist buildings such as the ceremonial hall (viharn), the chapel, the bell tower, etc.

———————————————————————————————–

Wat Uphai PhatikaramThe present chapel (ubosot) is a new, beautiful, and gigantic building which has replaced the old one. The chapel actually depicts the style of the applied Rattanakosin period. The weekdays operating hours are during 07:00-16:15 and 07:00-17:00 hrs for weekends. Moreover, there are many stalls for food and local souvenirs. Long-tailed boat service to and from the city market and the temple is also available.Wat Uphai Phatikaram (Wat Sam Po Kong) Situated on Suphakij Road, near Talad Mai, this temple was formerly a Chinese temple. However, it has now turned into a Vietnamese temple. It is also a location of the Chao Pho Sam Po Kong or Luang Pho To (Phra Trairattananayok). Every weekend, many Chinese tourists come to pay respect to the image.

———————————————————————————————-

City Pillar ShrineLocated on Na Mueang Road, the shrine is featured by the Thai architectural style with 4-sided roofs and a tower (Prang) in the center. Inside, there are 2 city piles which were built in 1834 and 1895. In the same compound, there is Chao Pho Lak Mueang Shrine, which is highly respected. Operating hours are from 07:00 16:00 hrs.

———————————————————————————————

Sponsor

Weather For Bangkok
33°
thunderstorm
humidity: 70%
wind: 3m/s SSE
H 34 • L 28
33°
Thu
31°
Fri
27°
Sat
28°
Sun
30°
Mon
Weather from OpenWeatherMap